Elimination of tax evasion and increasing tax revenue are widely stated objectives of the common reporting standard (CRS) and the Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA). However, the modest increase intax revenue in the United States following the introduction of FATCA may confirm an alternative view that the real purpose of FATCA is to allow the U.S. government access to private financial information so it can control the global financial industry. FATCA and the CRS are each designed to, at a minimum, require reporting financial institutions (RFIs) to report information on the interests that reportable persons have inreportable ‘‘financial accounts.’’ The CRS and FATCA have many similarities in their approach to due diligence and reporting requirements. The OECD, the architect of the CRS, intended this so that RFIs could substanitially use the procedures and systems they had begun developing in connection with FATCA.

The CRS has a significantly wider scope than FATCA. FATCA requires reporting with respect to U.S. tax payers who beneficially own financial accounts. The CRS requires reporting for tax residents in CRS ‘‘participating jurisdictions,’’ of which there are now more than 100. Further, the CRS requires reporting on tax residents that control or beneficially own financial accounts. This article explores key differences between FATCA and the CRS from an international privateclient practitioner’s perspective.

Twitter LinkedIn Email Save as PDF
More Publications
1 Sep 2021 |

Changes to rules on Permanent Residency Certificates

The Ministry of Labour has recently issued a policy paper, ‘Securing Permanency for Long-Term Resi...

26 Aug 2021 |

What to remember when an employee leaves

Just as when a new recruit is on-boarded, there are a variety of tasks an employer needs to deal wit...

23 Aug 2021 |

BMA seeks more seamless marketplace with ILS process enhancements

Recent changes made by the Bermuda Monetary Authority (BMA) to improve processes specific for catast...

17 Aug 2021 |

ILS Bermuda Executive Roundtable 2021

Despite the impacts of the Covid-19 pandemic and subsequent restrictions on travel and face-to-face ...

13 Aug 2021 |

A digital asset future: closer than we think

Most of us at some point in our lives have participated in a rewards programme either at our favouri...

26 Jul 2021 |

What not to forget when an employee leaves

There are many practical and ‘housekeeping’ matters that employers need to deal with when an emp...

Contributors: Jordan Knight
23 Jul 2021 |

Contributed surplus: it’s not capital!

Last week, in part one, we discussed the meaning of share premium, the various ways a company may us...

16 Jul 2021 |

Share premium: do you have it?

When the issuance of shares by a company is discussed, the first thought that comes to mind is the s...

2 Jul 2021 |

No question you’ll see more life reinsurers in Bermuda

While the emergence of property and casualty (P&C) startups in Bermuda is likely to be muted in ...

2 Jul 2021 |

Bermuda: An introduction to Dispute Resolution

This edition discusses Current Economic Conditions and Dispute Resolution Activity, Trends & Dev...

Contributors: Jordan Knight